Welcome guest. Sign in here

Presentation of the first Rosanne Fitzgibbon Editorial Award

In 2017 the Institute of Professional Editors (IPEd) initiated an award, the Rosanne Fitzgibbon Award for Editorial Excellence ('The Rosie'). The very first winner was announced at the 2017 IPEd conference.

The Rosie honours the memory of Rosanne Fitzgibbon DE (1947-2012), a distinguished editor of literary fiction and non-fiction, as well as of scholarly work in literary studies, and the recipient of the inaugural Beatrice Davis Editorial Fellowship in 1992. 'Rosie', as she was known, gave generously to her authors and to her profession, serving in many roles in many organisations. In her long years at University of Queensland Press (UQP) she shepherded such significant Australian authors as Kate Grenville, Peter Carey, Thea Astley, Janet Turner Hospital and Lily Brett.

About the 'Rosie'
The Rosie is an award to recognise excellence in editing, as demonstrated in one work, with testimony from author, publisher and editor. The nomination can come from any of the parties.

The nominated work may be a fiction or non-fiction published work in any genre, or another substantial body of work.

The Rosie is awarded biennially, in the year of the IPEd National Editors Conference (in alternate years to the Beatrice Davis Editorial Fellowship, also sponsored by IPEd). An editor may be nominated for more than one project in a given year and may be nominated in multiple years, provided the nominations are for different editorial relationships.

The Rosanne Fitzgibbon Award involves a cash prize of $4000.

The winner of the first Rosie

Jacqueline Blanchard, Managing Editor at the University of Queensland Press (UQP), is the inaugural winner of the Rosie for her editorial work on Matthew Condon's All Fall Down. Read her response, and more background on the 'Rosie', in Offpress September-October 2017.