Welcome guest. Sign in here

A Long Time Ago in a Galaxy Far Away

A brief history of ebooks and how genre fiction changed how we read

Join Editors Victoria online for this fascinating look at the history of digital books, genre, and changes in how we read.

Date: Thursday 25 June 2020
Time: 6:00 to 7:30 pm AEST
LOCAL START TIMES
NZ: 8:00pm NZST
NORFOLK ISLAND: 7:00pm NFT
TAS/ACT/VIC/QLD/NSW: 6:00pm AEST
SA/NT: 5:30pm ACST
WA: 4:00pm AWST

Venue: Online via Zoom meetings; all registrants will receive the Zoom meeting link closer to the day of the event.
Cost: IPEd members AUD10, non-members AUD15 (including GST – those exempt from GST will not be charged this amount).

Bookings close: Monday 22 June 2020

BOOKING LINK (IPEd members please login to book.)

Presenter

Kate Cuthbert is the Program Manager at Writers Victoria. Previously, she worked for more than a decade in trade publishing, notably initiating the Escape Publishing imprint of Harlequin Australia, and serving as its Managing Editor for almost seven years. She is also an award-winning book reviewer and critic, and is currently pursuing a PhD examining rural settings in Australian popular fiction.

Description
Join Kate Cuthbert, former Managing Editor of Escape Publishing and genre fiction advocate, for an entertaining discussion on the storied history of digital books, with a focus on the role genre writing played in the development and adoption of ebooks, which now account for 40% of book sales. Kate will show how the history of personal computers, the growth of romance fiction, and a strong push for altruism wove together to create a shift in how we read books, and in turn how digital books have gone on to change the way that books are edited, produced and marketed. There will also be time for questions, so feel free to take advantage of Kate's experience of launching and managing a digital imprint for a major international publisher, and how the markets have changed both here in Australia and globally.

This event WILL NOT be recorded.

 

Next